Skip to content

The Simpsons and Their Mathematical Secrets (& SitP)

June 23, 2013

My new book is out in October, and you might be surprised by the subject. Everyone knows that The Simpsons is the most successful show in television history, but you might not realise that the team behind it consists of several mathematically gifted writers, who have degrees and PhDs from top universities, such as Princeton, Harvard and Berkeley. Moreover, they have expressed their love of mathematics by smuggling everything from calculus to geometry, from pi to game theory, and from infinitesimals to infinity into various episodes of The Simpsons. The book covers The Simpsons, the writers and the mathematics in the series. I also discuss how the writers of Futurama (the sister series to The Simpsons) have similarly made it their mission to insert deep mathematical ideas into the series.

Image

I think it is a fairly light-hearted and hopefullly entertaining read, but it also contains some serious mathematics.

Anyway… my reason for this short blog is that I will be talking about the book when it is published in the autumn, and already have events scheduled for Greenwich SitP (Dec 4) and Birmingham SitP (Nov 27). I am not sure of the format yet, but I will probably talk about the mathematics of The Simpsons and Futurama in the first half and then have a more general skeptical Q&A in the second half.

I am keen to speak at other SitP venues. I am not yet sure of my schedule between Nov 11 and Christmas, but I will start pencilling in talks if organisers would like to suggest some dates.

Please use my personal email address if you have it or contact me via my website. It would help if the subject line was “SImpsons SitP ‘venue'”. Please suggest specific dates and also let me know if you might have some flexibility beyond your normal SitP night. I will then try to confirm dates in late July or early August.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

